Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee (Special)

Tuesday 3 December 2019 at 1.00 pm

To be held at the Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend

Membership

Councillors Mick Rooney (Chair), Ian Auckland, Steve Ayris, Ben Curran, Denise Fox, Julie Grocutt, Tim Huggan, Douglas Johnson, Mike Levery, Cate McDonald, Sioned-Mair Richards and Jim Steinke

Substitute Members

In accordance with the Constitution, Substitute Members may be provided for the above Committee Members as and when required.



PUBLIC ACCESS TO THE MEETING

The Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee comprises the Chairs and Deputy Chairs of the four Scrutiny Committees. Councillor Cate McDonald Chairs this Committee.

Remit of the Committee

- Effective use of internal and external resources
- Performance against Corporate Plan Priorities
- Risk management
- Budget monitoring
- Strategic management and development of the scrutiny programme and process
- Identifying and co-ordinating cross scrutiny issues

A copy of the agenda and reports is available on the Council's website at www.sheffield.gov.uk. You can also see the reports to be discussed at the meeting if you call at the First Point Reception, Town Hall, Pinstone Street entrance. The Reception is open between 9.00 am and 5.00 pm, Monday to Thursday and between 9.00 am and 4.45 pm. on Friday. You may not be allowed to see some reports because they contain confidential information. These items are usually marked * on the agenda.

Members of the public have the right to ask questions or submit petitions to Scrutiny Committee meetings and recording is allowed under the direction of the Chair. Please see the website or contact Democratic Services for further information regarding public questions and petitions and details of the Council's protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at council meetings.

Scrutiny Committee meetings are normally open to the public but sometimes the Committee may have to discuss an item in private. If this happens, you will be asked to leave. Any private items are normally left until last. If you would like to attend the meeting please report to the First Point Reception desk where you will be directed to the meeting room.

If you require any further information about this Scrutiny Committee, please contact Deborah Glen, Policy and Improvement Officer, on 0114 27 35065 or email deborah.glen@sheffield.gov.uk

FACILITIES

There are public toilets available, with wheelchair access, on the ground floor of the Town Hall. Induction loop facilities are available in meeting rooms.

Access for people with mobility difficulties can be obtained through the ramp on the side to the main Town Hall entrance.

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AGENDA 3 DECEMBER 2019

Order of Business

- 1. Welcome and Housekeeping Arrangements
- 2. Apologies for Absence
- 3. Exclusion of Public and Press

To identify items where resolutions may be moved to exclude the press and public

4. Declarations of Interest

Members to declare any interests they have in the business to be considered at the meeting

5. Public Questions and Petitions

To receive any questions or petitions from members of the public

6. Governance Review - Evidence Gathering Session 3

Report of the Policy and Improvement Officer

- 1.00pm to 2.45pm What Works Elsewhere Feedback from Site Visits
 - 1.00pm Pre-Decision Scrutiny in Rotherham

Witness – Councillor Steele, Chair, Overview and Scrutiny Management Board, Rotherham MBC

- 2.00pm Feedback from Conversations with Cheshire East and Melton Borough Council Report of the Head of Policy and Partnerships attached
- 2.45pm to 3.15pm Interim Feedback from the Big City Conversation

Laurie Brennan, Head of Policy and Partnerships, SCC

- 3.00pm Meeting to adjourn to enable Members to take part in a conference call with Reading Borough Council
- 4.30pm Meeting to reconvene pulling together findings and conclusions
- 7. Date of Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be held on Wednesday, 18th December, 2019, at 10.00 am, in the Town Hall